Ran 4.38 miles this morning! That's my longest run so far. It was really chilly outside when I left the house (around 6:15), but it is so much easier to keep running in the cooler weather. I didn't have the sluggishness that I normally do for the first mile or so (probably because my legs were numb from the cold!) and was able to just keep plugging along. It amazes me how much my mind wavers between the extremes of "I love running!" and "Why am I torturing myself?!" during most of my runs, but this morning it was just nice and peaceful watching the sun rise over the mountains. The most difficult part of the morning was running past Kneaders and smelling the bacon cooking!
After I got back from my run, we hurried to get everything ready for our neighborhood garage sale. While I put prices on all the things we had set aside over the course of the last two weeks, Matt hauled everything down to the neighbors house and got it set up. It felt great to get so many things we weren't using out of the house! We figured one way or the other, it wasn't coming back into the house so I was able to breathe a sigh of relief as every box went out the door. Matt stayed at the garage sale while I showered and got ready to attend the baptism of a young girl in our Ward.
Once I got back from the baptism, I spent the rest of the morning hanging out with Matt and the neighbors at the garage sale. We didn't sell at ton, but it was enough to make it worth the effort. There were a lot of sales in the area so I think we just didn't get as much traffic as we might have if there had been fewer. As the stream of people started dwindling we packed up the Jeep with the items that didn't sell and Matt took everything over to the DI to donate.
_________________________________________________________________________________
Matt and I ended up going out for our date tonight since we had the work party last night. He said he was 'in the mood for meat' so we went to Texas Roadhouse for dinner. The fried pickles there are really good...and also REALLY addicting. I'm sure I ate way too many of them, but it was worth it!
After that we really didn't have much of a plan so we sort of bounced around between a bunch of stores and small errands. Matt found the stickers he wanted for the dice game he's working on. I got a new pair of running socks and a water bottle (with a pocket) to carry as I start working up to longer runs.
We decided we wanted some dessert so we drove over to a local place that we heard was supposed to be on Cupcake Wars this weekend, but they had just closed so we decided on gelato instead. When we got over to the gelato place there was a live band and a big party on the little grass/park area next door. They had the street blocked off, several food trucks parked around and a TON of people. No idea what the party was for, but it was kind of fun to kind of stumble on it. One of the food trucks made crepes and I decided I really wanted a banana and Nutella one. We waited in line only to find out that something in the truck was broken and it was going to take 20-30 minutes until they had anything ready. Soooo....we ended up going back to the gelato plan. Matt got blood orange and I had a really amazing salted caramel.
Being the super exciting people that we are, we ended up coming home after that and watching lame movies on TV. Matt kept flipping back and forth between two horrible movies - one about astronauts going to rescue a bunch of other astronauts that were stranded on Mars and another one about a two headed shark attacking people that were stranded on a sinking atoll after it destroyed their boat. He has some sort of sick fascination with bad movies and bad disaster movies in particular. We ended up seeing how well we could lay out the plot of each one before things happened and were pretty darn close in predicting almost everything that happened. We finally decided enough was enough when yet another shark movie came on after the first one, but it was about a bullet proof GIANT shark with legs that was somehow managed to bring an entire oil rig down with two hits.
Hopefully I don't dream about lame shark movies all night...
No comments:
Post a Comment